Beautiful Beetroot Risotto

beetroot

I found this recipe in Waitrose but decided to tweek it a bit. Its so tasty, very healthy, cheap to make and entirely gluten free! When I’m making any risotto I usually make enough to do me three or four days (and end up eating most of it in two) so you can change the recipe about depending on how many you’re cooking for.

You will need:

1 large onion

3 cloves of garlic

olive oil

butter

glass of red wine

2 Pints of GF Bouillon stock (you may not use up the whole two pints but I always make more just in case)

4 handfuls of arborio rice

1 pack of ready to eat beetroot

2 sprigs of rosemary

1/2 a lemon

parmesan cheese

ricotta

4 handfuls of frozen peas

Begin by finely chopping the onion and garlic (I’m terrible at chopping garlic so I usually just grate it with a parmesan grater, saves time too).

Fry the garlic and onion in a pan with some olive oil and butter until softened. Add the rice in to the pan and coat with the butter. Cook for about 5 minutes and then add the glass of wine. Simmer out the alcohol and add a ladle of stock. Gradually add the stock as each ladle is absorbed by the rice.

Grate your beetroot. I usually use the large grater but feel free to grate to your liking.

When you have used about half your stock, add half the grated beetroot. Add your rosemary and squeeze the lemon juice in to the risotto. Add your frozen peas about 3 minutes before the risotto is ready.

Once your rice is cooked and you’ve used as much stock as you feel is needed, add the rest of your beetroot and stir.

Turn the heat off, add the ricotta to your desired amount and lashings of parmesan. Serve with even more parmesan. And Presto!

When I told my mum about the dish, she suggested I mould it in a heart shape. What a perfect dish for Valentines day (or if you’re like me and feel you don’t need a specific day to express your love, then any day really).

I would love to hear feedback about this recipe as I’m pretty proud of it and it tastes AMAZING!

Dom x

Onc

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Beetroot Risotto

Leave a Reply

