Honey Chilli Chicken

Since I was diagnosed I’ve been craving a lot of food that I never really ate before hand. It must be the fact that I can’t have it, makes me want it more. Takeaways are usually a no go for ceoliacs, which is a shame but at least you’re not tempted by fatty foods.

Today I had a massive craving for honey chilli chicken and whilst the smallest part of me considered getting a take away, I knew I shouldn’t so I ran down to the shops and put this together.

You will need:

Your desired cut of chicken (I usually use thighs and take the skin off before cooking)

2 tbsp of Doves Farm Gluten Free plain flour

salt

dried chilli flakes

ground black pepper

Rapeseed oil

1 clove of garlic (grated)

1cm worth of grated ginger

2 tbsp of sweet chilli sauce

2 tbsp of honey

juice of 1/2 lemon

1 tbsp of corn flour

Begin by taking the skin off your chicken (if you’ve used a cut with skin). If you’ve bought breast then cut it in to thin slices.

Coat the chicken in a mixture of flour, dried chilli flakes, salt and pepper. Pour a generous amount of oil into your pan/wok on full heat (as you’re technically deep frying your meat)

Add the chicken to the pan/wok and cook until golden brown.

Take the chicken out of the pan/wok and place on a plate with kitchen roll to get rid of excess oil.

Keep only a small amount of oil in the pan and add the ginger and garlic. Fry on a low heat until they are cooked.

Mix the sweet chilli sauce, lemon juice, honey and cornflour together. You can add GF soy sauce as well but as this is very expensive and I’m on a budget I haven’t bought any yet.

Add the mixture to the pan and let thicken. Then add the chicken and heat for a few minutes.

You can add any vegetables to this recipe. My boyfriend suggested pineapple, which sounds delicious but I also would add green peppers and spring onions.

Serve with egg fried rice and a sprinkle of sesame seeds if you want (but obviously to keep the budget down this can be avoided)

And there you have it, a delicious, gluten free, healthier alternative to a take away.

One thought on “Honey Chilli Chicken

Leave a Reply

