Earl Grey Muffins

muffin

I always find baking is an excellent relief from stress and before I was diagnosed I would often bake cakes or other sweet treats to take my mind of Uni work. Since finding out I’m a coeliac I’ve been pretty disheartened by my baking. For a while nothing I baked was turning out the way I wanted but practise makes perfect and I feel like I’m finally coming to terms with baking gluten free food.

Earl Grey is my favourite tea and the only tea I ever have in my cupboard, so the combination of earl grey and muffins is the ultimate treat for me. I couldn’t find a decent UK measurement GF muffin recipe anywhere so I just followed a normal recipe for muffins, using GF flour, Xanthan Gum, GF baking powder and adding earl grey infused milk.

If you’re a coeliac and enjoy baking then the muffins will be pretty cheap to make as you’ll have most of the ingredients in the cupboard anyway and maybe just have to invest in some earl grey teabags. They tasted delicious and I was over the moon as I’m now feeling more confident baking GF foods.

The following recipe makes about 12 muffins.

You will need:

2 eggs

125g softened butter

150g of caster sugar

375g of Doves GF Flour

125ml of milk

3 Earl Grey tea bags

Zest of half a lemon

2tsp of honey

2tsp of GF baking powder

1/2 tsp Xanthan Gum

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees Celsius

Begin by heating your milk on the hob. Add the earl grey tea bags and allow to cool.

Mix your sugar and butter together. I don’t have a proper mixer so I use a hand held electric one. These are pretty cheap to buy in supermarkets if you don’t already have one and want to save your hands from hard work.

Beat two eggs together and add to the mixture. Sift your flour, Xanthan Gum and baking powder in to another bowl and add gradually to the other mixture.

Add your lemon zest and honey and then add the cooled earl grey infused milk. To make sure you get maximum flavour, squeeze out the tea bags in to the milk before adding it to the mix.

Spoon the mixture in to the muffin cases, making sure you only fill them about 2/3 of the way. I’ve never invested in a muffin tray as I’ve usually found my muffins keep their shape but obviously a muffin tray would be a more sensible option than placing them on any old oven tray.

Pop in the oven for 20 minutes and once ready allow to cool before tucking in.

I polished off these muffins with some lemon curd and a lovely cup of earl grey but to serve them as a dessert I think some Lemon sorbet would be perfect.

Enjoy!

Dom x

 

2 thoughts on “Earl Grey Muffins

Leave a Reply

