Student Staples: Simple Salmon Stir Fry

Image

I may no longer be a student but in this current economic climate, you simply can’t afford to splash out on expensive cuts of meat and vegetables (I also liked the added alliteration in the title by adding the word ‘student’).

When I was a student, a stir fry would be a pretty standard meal for me. Meat, fish or poultry when my loan first came in, veggie and leftovers when I was skint. Before I was diagnosed I could douse soy sauce all over it to give it added flavour and also buy egg noodles in bulk so I’d never have to go without a quick and healthy dinner.

But just because I’m now gluten free doesn’t mean a stir fry can’t be as simple as it once was. Fresh Rice noodles are available in most supermarkets and my local Morrisons recently started stocking a massive pack of dried rice noodles for £1.10. I’ve noticed on some packets they state that the noodles may contain gluten, I presume this means that the noodles are made and packaged in a factory that processes products containing gluten. If you find this a current problem I suggest going to your local Asian Supermarket and buying dried rice noodles in bulk, the ingredients are usual listed as simply rice and water, so no need to worry about accidental ‘glutening’.

I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I haven’t yet invested in any gluten free soy sauce. It was too expensive on a student budget and I feel I can cook tasty food without it. See my Thai Green Curry for an example.

To make this stir fry for two you will need:

400g of Rice Noodles (so roughly 1 pack of fresh noodles or I used two of the ‘clumps’ from my dried noodle pack)

two handfuls of peas

200g of brocolli (I used about half a large brocolli that I had left over)

200g mange tout, roughly chopped

half a pack of beansprouts

2 fillets of salmon

For the sauce:

1 thumb sized piece of ginger, grated

1 fresh red chilli (or you could use chilli oil or chilli flakes) chopped

juice of half a lemon

handful of coriander, finely chopped

4 tbsp of sesame oil

Preheat your over at 200 degrees C.

Begin by making the sauce to go over your salmon. Mix together the oil, chilli, lemon juice, coriander and ginger. I used my pestle and mortar but if you chop the ingredients finely enough you shouldn’t need to. Place the salmon on to an oven dish lined with tinfoil, pour over half the sauce and create a parcel around the fish with the rest of the tinfoil. Bake for 15 minutes.

In a wok, start frying your broccoli as this will take the longest to cook. Use the sesame oil to fry the vegetables too as this oil is flavourless and best when cooking a stir fry. If you don’t have sesame oil, olive oils fine. Once the brocolli is cooked (it should still have a bite) add the rest of the veg and cook for one minute. At this point add the rest of your sauce to the veg. If you bought dried noodles then boil them in a pot for two minutes, drain them and add them to the wok but if you bought straight to wok noodles then obviously you can leave this step out. Noodles that have been boiled have a habit of sticking together, avoid this by stirring constantly whilst boiling.The noodles should only take about 2 minutes to cook. Make sure you coat them in the sauce fully.

Serve the noodles in a bowl and place the baked salmon on top. The juices from the salmon can be poured over the stir fry too. Serve with a slice of lemon.

It really is that simple.

Dom x

Leave a Reply

